Accepted MBA Admissions Round Up

  • In Tough Times, M.B.A. Applications May Be an Economic Indicator
  • The Wharton Adcom blog has posted a wonderful summary of Wharton’s programs and resource in entrepreneurship. If you are interested in Wharton and entrepreneurship, check it out.
  • The media has been falling over itself to publish articles on the surge in applications due to the economic storm (hurricane?) that we find ourselves in, as well as the melt-down’s impact on current students and soon-to-be graduates. Here are a few:
    • As economy sputters, grad schools overflow
      • representatives of different Consortium schools will be available to

      • Escape Route: Seeking Refuge in an M.B.A. Program 
      • process.

        answer your questions about researching schools, early preparation, and

      • The Financial Times reports that London Business https://www.facebook.com/nerdymates/ School received a multi-million pound gift from Jeremy Coller of Coller Capital to expand and rename LBS’s private equity research center. It will become the Coller Institute of Private Equity.
      • Keeping an eye on the bigger picture
    • On Thursday October 23 at 10:00 AM PT/1:00 PM ET/5:00 PM GMT Accepted.com will host an online chat for MIT Sloan’s. The last chat was “standing room only” and highly informative. Although we covered a lot of ground, some of you didn’t get your questions answered. This is another opportunity for you to ask those nagging questions and learn more about MIT Sloan. And it’s less than one week prior to Sloan’s first deadline on Oct. 28.
    • Would-Be Bankers Turn to Consulting
      1. The MBA Tour keeps chugging along. Next stop: Canada.
        Jackie Olden, the Consortium’s Director of Recruiting, and
        the steps you should be taking at this point in the application

        A summary of events in the MBA admissions world:

        Vancouver – November 6; Toronto November 8; Montreal, November 10.

      2. On Thursday October 23, 2008 at 5:00 PM PT/8:00 PM ET/12:00 AM GMT, Accepted.com will host an online chat for those interested in applying through the Consortium for Graduate Study in Management.